This is the "Home" page of the "GALILEO Databases" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

GALILEO Databases  

Last Updated: Oct 17, 2014 URL: http://southgatech.libguides.com/galileo Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

GALILEO Databases

  • ABI/INFORM Complete (at ProQuest)
    ABI/INFORM Complete is a comprehensive business database containing thousands of journals. The combination of products forms a business database package that offers full-text titles covering business and economic conditions, corporate strategies, management techniques, as well as competitive and product information. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
  • Academic Search Complete
    Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary database, with more than 6,100 full-text periodicals, including more than 5,100 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 10,100 journals and a total of 10,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database is updated daily and features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full-text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for nearly 1,000 journals.
  • Advanced Placement Source
    Advanced Placement Source is designed to meet the needs of high school students enrolled in various AP courses. It contains more than 5700 full-text journals and over 300,000 photos, maps and flags. Subject areas include mathematics, physics, chemistry, biology, computer science, human geography, psychology, economics & statistics; government & politics; environmental science; U.S., European and world history; the arts and music.
  • AGRICOLA (at EBSCOhost)
    AGRICOLA (AGRICultural OnLine Access) contains bibliographic records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library and covers every major agricultural subject. The citations consist of journal articles, book chapters, monographs, theses, conference proceedings, serials, technical reports, patents, software, and other materials on a broad range of agricultural topics.
  • Alt HealthWatch
    Alt HealthWatch focuses on multiple perspectives of complementary, holistic, and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. Full-text content comes from more than 180 international peer-reviewed and professional journals, magazines, reports, proceedings, and association and consumer newsletters, plus hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research, and book excerpts.
  • The Atlanta Journal Constitution (AJC)
    The Atlanta Journal Constitution (AJC) through the ProQuest National Newspaper collection provides online access to the AJC from 1990 to the present.
  • Automobile Repair Reference Center
    The Auto Repair Reference Center database includes information on most major manufacturers of domestic and imported vehicles, with repair information starting as far back as 1945 for certain makes.
  • Banking Information Source (ProQuest)
    ProQuest Banking Information Source combines the currency of the Internet and the perspective of industry journals to provide the ultimate financial services research tool. With over 500 of the most authoritative sources of information, there is simply no better way to keep informed.
  • Biographies (Encyclopaedia Britannica)
    Biographies from Encyclopaedia Britannica provides access to hundreds of biographies on famous historical and contemporary figures from around the world.
  • Book Collection: Nonfiction
    Book Collection: Nonfiction is a cross-curricular research database that contains abstracts and searchable full text for more than 4,000 popular nonfiction books for youth on core subject areas, as well as information on careers, health, sports, adventure, technology, life skills, and more.
    Audience: General, K-12 students
  • Business Source Complete
    Business Source Complete is a scholarly business database that provides full-text access to many peer-reviewed business related journals, including disciplines such as marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics.
  • Career & Technical Education
    Career & Technical Education includes several hundred full-text titles in the area of vocational information.
    Topics include: Computing science, Healthcare, Building trades, Auto mechanics, Sales and retail, Accounting, Graphic design, and Photography
  • Child Development & Adolescent Studies
    Child Development & Adolescent Studies™ provides references to the current and historical literature related to growth and development of children through the age of 21.
  • Computer Science Index
    Computer Science Index (CSI) offers abstracting and indexing of academic journals, professional publications, and other reference sources at scholarly and technical levels of computer science.
  • Computer Source
    Computer Source contains nearly 300 full text journals and magazines covering topics such as computer science, programming, artificial intelligence, cybernetics, information systems, robotics, and software. Computer Source provides a balance of full text technical journals and full text consumer computer titles.
  • Consumer Health Complete
    Consumer Health Complete (CHC) is a comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content, including full text from many health reference books and encyclopedias and thousands of health reports as well as physician-generated videos and hundreds of medical images and diagrams. CHC provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic, and integrated medicine. This full-text database covers topics such as aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs and alcohol, fitness, nutrition and dietetics, children's health, men and women's health, and more.
  • eBooks on EBSCOhost
    eBooks at EBSCOhost provides access to electronic books (eBooks), including reference books, scholarly monographs, publications of many university presses, and consumer books that have been converted into digital format. It is possible to perform full-text searches of a single eBook, search thousands of volumes simultaneously, browse topic categories, or read eBooks directly online.
  • Education Journals (ProQuest)
    ProQuest Education Journals gives users access to over 790 top educational publications, including more than 615 of the titles in full text. Image articles include all the charts, tables, diagrams, and other graphical elements often used to enhance the editorial value of articles that focus on education topics. ProQuest Education Journals covers not only the literature on primary, secondary, and higher education but also special education, home schooling, adult education, and hundreds of related topics.
  • Encyclopædia Britannica Online
    The Encyclopædia Britannica database includes thousands of articles from the printed Encyclopædia Britannica, including thousands more that are not found in the print set. The resource also includes year-in-review articles from recent yearbooks, The Britannica Student Encyclopedia, and Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus. Most articles are brief or of moderate length and discuss people, places, institutions, things, or concepts. Longer articles are divided into separate sections for easier access and more accurate searching.
  • Environment Complete
    Environment Complete offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine and freshwater science, geography, pollution and waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.
  • ERIC (at EBSCOhost)
    ERIC (at EBSCOhost), Educational Resources Information Center, database covers all aspects of education and educational research. ERIC provides access to education-related resources, including journal and non-journal bibliographic information. The ERIC database is produced by the Office of Educational Research and Improvement (OERI), U.S. Department of Education.
  • Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia
    Funk and Wagnall's New World Encyclopedia is a general encyclopedia containing over 25,000 information segments appropriate for the research needs of school students.
  • Garden, Landscape & Horticulture Index
    Garden, Landscape & Horticulture Index provides access to articles about gardens and plants, including topics such as horticulture, botany, garden and landscape design & history, ecology, plant and garden conservation, garden management, and horticultural therapy. A highlight of the database is its focus on environmentally sustainable horticultural and design practices.
  • Georgia Code
    The Georgia Code, hosted by LexisNexis, is the compilation of the currently enforceable laws of the state of Georgia. The database is searchable by keyword and by code number. The code can also be browsed by title, chapter, and section.
  • GreenFILE
    GreenFILE indexes scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports. The database contains nearly 300,000 records, full text for a few selected titles and searchable cited references for more than 200 titles. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
  • Health Source: Nursing / Academic Edition
    Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides over 500 scholarly full-text journals focusing on nursing, allied health fields, and many medical disciplines. Patient education sheets from the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide are also included.
  • History Reference Center (EBSCOhost)
    History Reference Center is a full-text history reference database designed for secondary schools, public libraries, junior/community colleges, and undergraduate research. The database features reference books, encyclopedias, non-fiction books, and history periodicals as well as thousands of historical documents, biographies of historical figures, photos, maps, and over 80 hours of historical video.
  • Hoover's Company Capsules & Profiles (at ProQuest)
    Hoover's Company Capsules and Profiles includes information on more than 40,000 companies, 600 industries, and 225,000 key executives. Business information includes: Company overview, Company history, Officers and board members, Products and operations, Auditors, Rankings, Related industry information, and Historical financials.
  • Hospitality & Tourism Complete
    Hospitality & Tourism Complete covers scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism. Coverage includes periodicals, company and country reports, and books from domestic and international sources. Subject areas include culinary arts, demographics and statistics, development and investment, food and beverage management, hospitality law, hotel management and administrative practices, leisure and business travel, market trends, technology, and more.
  • Images (EBSCOhost)
    EBSCO Images consists of over 100,000 images from Academic Search Premier, Academic Search Elite, MasterFILE Premier, and Middle Search Plus, in the following categories: 70,000+ photos, 30,000+ images from Canadian Press, 1,200+ maps from MapQuest, and 500+ photos from public domain sources. The images consist of a wide array of photos and maps, with an emphasis on world news and events. Other areas of coverage include contemporary and historical photos of people, places, and the natural kingdom.
  • International Newspapers (ProQuest Newspapers)
    ProQuest Newspapers offers international, national, regional, and local papers including The Atlanta Journal-Constitution, The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, USA Today, Washington Post, The Guardian, El Norte, Jerusalem Post, and South China Morning Post. Detailed indexing covers not only complete bibliographic information but also subjects, companies, people, products, and geographic areas and provides access to detailed information on the arts, sports, business, and popular culture. Even items such as editorials, editorial cartoons, obituaries, and letters to the editor from well-known people are indexed.
  • Legal Collection
    Legal Collection is an authoritative source for information on current issues, studies, thoughts, and trends of the legal world. Legal Collection offers full text for more than 250 law journals. This database provides information centered on the discipline of law and legal topics, such as criminal justice, international law, federal law, organized crime, medical, labor & human resource law, ethics, the environment, and much more.
  • LexisNexis Academic
    LexisNexis Academic contains thousands of publications, virtually all include full text. Many types of publications are included: newspapers (in English, other languages, and translations of international papers), legal news, general interest magazines, medical journals, trade publications, company financial information, transcripts, wire service reports, government publications (such as the federal case law, U.S. Code, Code of Federal Regulations, Congressional Testimony, etc.), law reviews, and reference works (such as the Forbes Annual Directory, the Official Guide/American Marketplace and the US Global Trade Outlook).
  • Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA)
    Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) indexes more than 600 periodicals, plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more.
  • Literary Reference Center
    Literary Reference Center is a full-text database that combines information from major respected reference works, books, and literary journals as well as original content from EBSCO Publishing. Literary Reference Center includes thousands of plot summaries, synopses, and work overviews; articles of literary criticism; author biographies; full text of over 430 literary journals; book reviews; classic and contemporary poems and short stories; full text of over 7,000 classic novels; author interviews; and images of key literary figures.
  • MAS Ultra (at EBSCOhost)
    MAS Ultra is a general database created for a high school audience. It provides the full text of over 500 popular magazines as well as biographies and primary source documents. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). It also includes thousands of images, maps, and flags as well as reference books, including the Columbia Encyclopedia, the CIA World Fact Book, and World Almanac & Book of Facts.
  • MasterFILE Elite
    MasterFILE Elite is a general database created for a public library audience. It provides abstracts and indexing for over 2,000 publications as well as full text for over 1,000 journals and general magazines covering nearly all subjects including general reference, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues, and much more. This resource also contains full text for more than 50 reference books and an Image Collection of over 510,000 photos, maps and flags.
  • MEDLINE (at EBSCOhost)
    MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals. Included are citations from Index Medicus, International Nursing Index, Index to Dental Literature, HISTLINE, SPACELINE, PREMEDLINE, AIDSLINE, BIOETHICSLINE, and HealthSTAR.
  • Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary
    Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary is an English-language dictionary available as part of Encyclopædia Britannica Online. It includes definitions (with the most recent meaning listed last), examples of use, pronunciations, etymologies, and synonyms.
  • New Georgia Encyclopedia
    The New Georgia Encyclopedia provides access to authoritative information on people, places, events, history, and other topics about the state of Georgia. The site includes articles and images on every aspect of the state and includes links to related Internet sites.
  • Newspaper Source
    Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for 35 national (U.S.) and international newspapers, including The Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times, The Times (London), The Toronto Star, etc. The database also contains selective full text for 375 regional (U.S.) newspapers, including The Chicago Tribune, The Detroit Free Press, The San Jose Mercury News, etc. In addition, full-text television & radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR, etc.
  • NoveList
    NoveList is an online readers' advisory tool that helps readers find new books based on books they've read or on topics in which they are interested. NoveList provides enhanced subject access to over 125,000 fiction titles and more than 90,000 full-text book reviews or annotations.
  • ProQuest Databases
    ProQuest Databases provides the option to search the ProQuest databases available to your institution individually or simultaneously.
  • ProQuest Learning: Literature
    ProQuest Learning: Literature provides more than 180,000 full-text works of poetry, prose, and drama from around the world. It also offers secondary sources, such as author biographies and multimedia, as well as literary criticism, essays, reviews, and interviews drawn from more than 100 full-text literary magazines and journals.
  • ProQuest Newspapers
    ProQuest Newspapers offers international, national, regional, and local papers including The Atlanta Journal-Constitution, The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, USA Today, Washington Post, The Guardian, El Norte, Jerusalem Post, and South China Morning Post. Detailed indexing covers not only complete bibliographic information but also subjects, companies, people, products, and geographic areas and provides access to detailed information on the arts, sports, business, and popular culture. Even items such as editorials, editorial cartoons, obituaries, and letters to the editor from well-known people are indexed.
  • ProQuest Nursing and Allied Health Source
    ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source provides users with reliable health care information covering nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, and much more. This database is designed to meet the needs of researchers at health care facilities as well as nursing and allied health programs at academic institutions.
  • Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection
    Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection includes articles from 410 full-text journal covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods.
  • Race Relations Abstracts
    Race Relations Abstracts focuses on content relating specifically to the relationship between races. Race relations is an area of study that pertains to the social, political, and economic relations between races and ethnicities. Specific areas covered include ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, ideology, community relations, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. The index contains thousands of records selected from the sources such as Race & Class, Ethnic & Racial Studies, Journal of Social Issues, etc.
  • Regional Business News
    Regional Business News provides comprehensive full-text coverage for more than 50 regional business publications (including titles from Crain Communications).
  • Religion (ProQuest)
    ProQuest Religion is an indispensable resource for religious studies programs and for anyone researching religious issues and perspectives. This resource presently has more than 150 journals, with most of them available with full-text. The content is full-text, scholarly, and designed to meet the needs of both religious studies programs and general library collections.
  • Religion & Philosophy Collection
    Religion & Philosophy Collection includes more than 300 full-text journals covering topics such as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy, and the history of philosophy.
  • Research Library (at ProQuest)
    Research Library provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects and includes full-text access for thousands of titles, including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
  • Science and Technology Collection
    Science & Technology Collection contains more than 830 full-text journals covering relevant aspects of the scientific and technical community. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 1,740 journals. Topics include aeronautics, astrophysics, biology, chemistry, computer technology, geology, aviation, physics, archaeology, marine sciences, and materials science.
  • Social Science Journals (ProQuest)
    ProQuest Social Science Journals is a definitive resource for those who need access to a variety of scientific journals. The database includes over 570 titles, with more than 340 available in full text. ProQuest Social Science Journals provides information on hundreds of topics, including: Addiction studies, Urban studies, Family studies, and International relations.
  • Sociological Collection
    Sociological Collection includes more than 475 full-text titles. It provides information on all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture, and social structure.
  • Student Research Center
    Student Research Center (SRC) is EBSCO's interface designed for students in grades 6 through 12. Through the Student Research Center, users can pre-determine which content sources (e.g., Magazines, Newspapers, Biographies, Country Reports, Film & Video) will be included with their search. They can also search their databases by topic heading, make use of an online dictionary and encyclopedia, explore the top searches of the day, and limit their search according to appropriate Lexile reading levels.
  • Telecommunications (ProQuest)
    ProQuest Telecommunications is an essential resource for anyone researching the industry or its technology. The database includes over 140 titles, with more than 115 available in full text. For the latest news on WAP technology, following market penetration of new technologies, or gathering information about the key players in this field, ProQuest Telecommunications helps you stay one step ahead.
  • TOPICsearch (at EBSCOhost)
    TOPICsearch is a current events database covering social, political, and economic issues as well as scientific discoveries and other popular topics. The database contains full text of over one hundred thousand articles from more than a thousand diverse sources including international and regional newspapers, periodicals, biographies, public opinion polls, book reviews, pamphlets, and government information. The search options allow users to select particular current events and popular topics from drop-down menus.
  • Violence & Abuse Abstracts
    Violence & Abuse Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to violence and abuse, including family violence, sexual assault, emotional abuse, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. Records are selected from sources within the discipline, such as: Child Maltreatment, Trauma, and Violence & Abuse. EBSCO has digitized the full archive of this index, bringing coverage back to 1995.
  • Vocational & Career Collection
    The Vocational & Career Collection provides full-text coverage for almost 350 trade and industry related periodicals including American Machinist, Modern Machine Shop, Pediatric Nursing, Wireless Week, Drug Store News, Video Business, Reeves Journal, Hotel and Motel Management, Restaurant Business, Advertising Age, and many more.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip