Using Your SGTC Library: Home

HOURS

Monday-Thursday: 8 a.m.-8 p.m.

Friday: 8 a.m.-12 p.m.

Saturday-Sunday: 4 p.m.-8 p.m.

LOCATION

The Library on the Americus Campus is located in Hicks Hall, Room 115, across the hall from Culinary Arts.

For more information, contact:

John Wilson

229-931-2562

john.wilson@southgatech.edu

BORROWING

Students may check out books from the general collection for a period of two weeks. Students may renew books for an additional two weeks.

In order to check out books, students must have a valid library card.

If a book has not been returned after an extended period of time of being marked overdue, a replacement fee for the book (the current price of replacement) will be added to the user's account. The fee will be removed from the account once the book has been returned or the item has been paid for.

Magazines, newspapers, and reference materials cannot be checked out. These items must be used in the Library.

CHILDREN

Children under the age of 16 are not allowed to use the Library.

UNATTENDED MATERIALS

Students should never leave their personal belongings unattended. The Library has no responsibility for a student’s personal belongings.

PERSONAL MUSIC DEVICES

Students using personal devices for listening to music must use earphones and turn the music down low enough so that the music cannot be heard by other people.

COMPUTERS

Students may use the Library computers without signing in or showing an ID.

Students are responsible for saving their work to a flash drive. The Library does not provide flash drives for students.

Students must comply with Copyright Law when using Library computers and must avoid all illegal activity when accessing the Internet through a Library computer.

Students cannot add software to Library computers.

• The Atlanta Journal Constitution (AJC)

  The Atlanta Journal Constitution (AJC) through the ProQuest National Newspaper collection provides online access to the AJC from 1990 to the present.

• New York Times

  The New York Times is included in the ProQuest Newspapers database but can be searched as a separate resource. To browse The New York Times issue by issue, click on the Publications link then select the year and issue. Issues appear daily and the coverage available to you is from 1980 to the present.

• Los Angeles Times

  The Los Angeles Times is included in the ProQuest Newspapers database but can be searched as a separate resource. To browse The Los Angeles Times issue by issue, click on the Publications link then select the year and issue. Coverage dates: 1985-Present

• Wall Street Journal

  The Wall Street Journal is included in the ProQuest Newspapers database but can be searched as a separate resource. To browse The Wall Street Journal issue by issue, click on the Publications link then select the year and issue.

• Washington Post

  The Washington Post is included in the ProQuest Newspapers database but can be searched as a separate resource. To browse The Washington Post issue by issue, click on the Publications link then select the year and issue. Coverage dates: 1987-Present

HOURS

Monday-Thursday: 8 a.m.-7:30 p.m.

Friday: 8 a.m.-12 p.m.

Saturday-Sunday: Closed

LOCATION

The Library at the Crisp County Center is located in Room A37, across from the main entrance and reception desk.

For more information, contact:

D.W. Persall

229-271-4071

dwpersall@southgatech.edu

RESEARCH & PAPER FORMATTING

The Library is always happy to teach research skills to library patrons. Learn how to find the correct sources for your papers and projects.

The Library is also happy to teach students how to cite sources and format appropriately in MLA or APA.

Make an appointment today. Email: john.wilson@southgatech.edu

TUTORING

The Life Lab is located inside of the Library. Dr. Pam Fields will be happy to assist you with learning more about your courses. Math or English, she is always happy to assist.

Make an appointment today, Email: pam.fields@southgatech.edu

Current Tutoring Lab Hours in the Library

Monday: By Appointment Only

Tuesday-Thursday: 10 a.m.-4 p.m.

Friday: By Appointment Only

Saturday-Sunday: Closed

Classroom Sessions:

• Customized classes can be conducted in your classroom and can be as short as 10 minutes. Sessions can include GALILEO, Navigating the Web (Using the CRAAP Method, domain suffixes, PubMed Central, Google Scholar, etc.), the SGTC eBook collection and general search techniques, or be specific to a topic or assignment. We would also be happy to provide individual or small group sessions to students or faculty, or collaborate with you to develop instruction sessions for specific curriculum needs. Also, if you would like to give your students a day to conduct research for their papers, you can schedule a library session for them to work on gathering this information and I will be available during the allotted time to help them locate materials if they would like assistance from a librarian. Classroom sessions work best when there is a forthcoming assignment that will require research of some kind.

Online Library Guides

• What is an Online Library Guide? For me, visualization is the best learning method. Take a look at an actual Library Guide by clicking here: 

African American History Month at SGTC

• Don't have time for a library session or feel that a majority of your class doesn't need one? A majority of the students may have an excellent understanding of GALILEO. However, a few may not. The online guide can be very effective because it teaches students all of the different methods of using library resources, and it can be accessed with a single click of the link, meaning it is an excellent source for online students who have no immediate access to our library. Since this guide will cover GALILEO and the SGTC eBook collection (thousands of titles), this can be a huge advantage for your online students or face-to-face students who do not have a good grasp on library resources. I can also include your assignments, examples of your research papers with correct format, videos, audio and any other items you may wish to use to teach your online or on-campus classes. More extensive guides can also be created that contain links to specific databases within GALILEO and the SGTC online journals that are relevant to your students' research needs.
• Other material that can be created for your class includes citation guidelines in APA or MLA formats.

Multimedia Research Presentations:  

• While the traditional research paper is still essential, consider incorporating a multimedia group presentation into your course. Students will have to present the combined use of several different content forms, which can include text, images, video, audio, etc...on a topic of the instructor's choosing. Students will learn how to use free Web tools and build free websites. Websites will be formatted in the manner of the traditional research paper and citation of sources is essential. This may require more than one session and will give students skills they can use beyond the classroom.
• What skills will a student gain from this?

1. They'll learn how to build and maintain a basic website, skills that look great on a resume. 
2. They'll learn all about using free Google apps, such as Drive, Docs, Sites, Forms, etc.
3. Everything they'll use is free and can be transitioned into the work environment.
4. K-12 students are rapidly learning advanced information literacy and multimedia skills, and a gap needs to be filled to even further enhance our current students' success beyond the classroom. 
5. Students learn how to cite other forms of sources, such as videos, graphics, AI, etc.

Digital Portfolios

• A student essentially builds a website and records examples of their best work, creating a collage of photos and papers and history for potential employers to view through the link to their portfolio that they add to their resumes. Former students in my Information Literacy courses loved this assignment because they learned valuable skills and obtained an edge over other interview candidates.
• Imagine, for example, a potential employee showcasing examples of her work--various haircuts, nail designs, etc.--to a potential employer. Not only does the employer immediately see the skills the student has, but the employer also becomes aware of potential marketing skills, etc., skills that this potential employee can offer the business beyond what the position may require. 
• Georgia College largely used my template in transitioning to online portfolios for faculty members in obtaining tenure. A breakdown of the portfolio can be found in my article, "The importance of the electronic portfolio for faculty and students."
• Other universities are considering ePortfolios as a quality enhancement for their students.

If you are interested in any or all of these services, I look forward to hearing from you.

Please feel free to drop by my office in the library, call me at 931-2562, or email john.wilson@southgatech.edu to set up a meeting.